Memories, Mi Familia

A Birthday Letter to My Best Friend

jeetaCollageDear Jacinta,

Sixteen years ago today my best friend was born. I was then only eighteen months old, but I think I was quite excited for my newest baby doll! From what they’ve told me, once they gave you to me to hold I was unwilling to give you back! But how could they steal “my” baby?!? 😉

Well, it is very unreal to me that sixteen years have already come and gone! Just before my very eyes you have grown and are maturing into a beautiful young woman! Through the years you have always had my back. You have been the friend to me when I least deserved it. You always have an encouraging word and a jokeless joke to give me. Whenever I feel most lonely, I know I can count on you! If ever there is anything troubling me, you are always the first to be concerned.

It’s just unbelievable that we could go from one second as little girls with bows in our hair playing baby dolls, to now driving and much more interested in make-up and chatting! We always were such good buddies, right?!? I know, we have had our ups and downs, disagreements and quarrels, and even our anger towards each other. But never once in any of those times did I question your love for me and my love for you. We have grown-up together, shared everything from toys, clothes, secrets, and heartache. It’s such a great comfort to me knowing that I shall have someone to go through life with. Makes this crazy dark world brighter and much more full of life and love!

I pray that as the years go by, we grow even closer! That no matter the distance we always stay in touch! And since I can’t put it very meaningfully, I found this poem:

A Sister Just Like You

I just want to let you know

You mean the world to me;

Only a heart as dear as yours

Would give so unselfishly.

The many things you’ve done

All the times that you were there;

Help me know deep down inside

How much you really care.

Even though I might not say

I appreciate all you do;

Richly blessed is how I feel

Having a sister just like you!

Don’t forget that, darling! That because I have a sister, I shall always have a friend! Thank you for always being the perfect and best friend anyone could ever wish for! ❤

God bless you today on your sweet sixteenth birthday!!! 🙂

Love your fortunate elder sister,

Genevieve ❤ ❤ ❤

“Side by side, or miles apart… We are sisters, connected by the heart!” ❤

 

One thought on “A Birthday Letter to My Best Friend

  1. Awww Thank you so much for this beautiful, well written, and absolutely stunning letter!!!!!!!!! I really do appreciate it and all you do!!! Especially the food you bake which is always amazingly creative and tastes better than ever!!!!!!!!!!! 🙂 Also Thank you for being you and letting me be me and always being there for me. I am literally speechless….well sort of!! 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

