To Where You Are

Dear Theodore,

I am sorry that I have neglected writing to you in quite some time. Life has been quite busy and I have not had the opportunity. But now I have some time and would like to share some thoughts. ūüôā

I know that I¬†have mentioned before–on my previous blog--that I fell in love with music after you died, but I have not yet gone in to explaining just how much music has helped me. Just the ¬†melody mixed with words to create a meaning can touch someone so much, and explain how that was for¬†me. There are so many songs–ones which I heard right after you died, and others which have only just been released–that have helped me and encouraged me! The list is too great, it would take too long to list them all.—-In fact, I do not even know them all off the top of my head!!!—-I will incorporate some of the songs¬†with my post(s), but again, these will¬†only be a few of a very large quantity.

The first which I’d like to share in this post is¬†the song, which has touched me more than I could ever explain, is To Where You Are by Josh Groban. In this song, (which you can find here), he is singing about someone whom he loved that he lost. . . Which is very straightforward. But if you not only listen to the words, but feel¬†them you will discover a whole new meaning. He begins with the possibility that his loved one is still present. He claims that this is an option, because their memory is so vivid and clear in his mind. He goes farther when he sings “deep in the stillness, I can hear you speak. . .” Just let that sink in. He is so lost in thought of his loved one that he can hear them speaking to them. It’s like our¬†Christian way of prayer. We¬†pray to God and then wait for him to reply, and at some point we¬†believe that God is speaking to us. When we talk of “speaking” here, we are not meaning that it is like one¬†is speaking to their¬†friend. But it’s something you feel. You sense¬†it and hear it in your heart.¬†As Groban goes on to¬†say, “you’re still an inspiration. . .” What deep meaning that one line holds. He feels them speaking and inspiring him through his life. He knows that they are with him wherever he goes, and in his line “that you are watching over me, from up above. . .” They are so present in his heart, that even after losing them, he knows that they are not even gone. They are still watching over him, caring for him, inspiring him, and speaking to him in his hearts so can show how much they love him.

In the chorus, he shows the longing in his heart and just how much he misses them. With starting “fly me up to where you are. . .”, he clearly shows just how he longs to see them “if only for a while. . .” I will have to say that the chorus is what always gets me. Well, just listen to what he is saying:

“Fly me up to where you are,
Beyond the distant star
I wish upon tonight
To see you smile
If only for awhile to know you’re there
A breath away’s not far
To where you are”

His heart is aching to see the one whom he loves. It sings out in a troubled way, but puts its sorrow so beautifully that anyone who hears it can not but hope that they too can see their own loved one. Everyone at some point in their lives have lost someone so dear to them that their death has almost cost them their own life. We all can understand what he is telling us in this chorus. I can not help but wish that too. I know that at the end of my life I will see you again, but I want to see you now. I want to be reassured of your happiness. I want to see you smile. Hear you laugh. It does not have to last very long, just a minute, or even less. . . just a few seconds. Moments. Just to see you there, happier than ever with the angels and God by your side! I want to see that heavenly vision. I want to see you.

I have written a lot but I want to share one more thing. At the end of his second verse,¬†he sings: “And that love will live on, and never¬†leave. . .” Do I really have to explain that one? It is very straightforward. The love which he has for them, will stay with him forever. It can not lessen, only grow and strengthen. The same goes for me. The love which I have for you will last with me and I will die with it on my heart. It is something that can no be replaced. It is something that I cherish.¬†Even though the more I love you the more I hurt, I do not wish to love you less. In fact, I desire to love you even more and more, because I know that it will bring me closer to you. For as he says:¬†“A breath away’s not far to where you are!”

Until we meet again, I remain your affectionate sister,

Genevieve

wpid-wp-1443377858855.jpg

About Bluebonnet Girl

Thank you for stopping by! I am a newly graduated high school 18 year old girl who lives in the small town of Midlothian. I have many dreams and plans for my future, but am uncertain which road I shall take. In the mean time, I hope to attend a couple classes at our local community college and work as a waitress, while I wait for God to reveal His plan for me. One of my favorite pasttimes is writing; that is the reason I have this blog. On here, I like to share little moments of my life that have formed me into the person I am. I enjoy writing about my brother, whom I lost when I was just 10 years old. It has been a struggle living without him for the past 7 years, but my faith keeps me strong and it allows me to remain strong and happy in this life. As well as that, I enjoy sharing recipes (I love to cook/bake!), that I have found quite delicious! I hope you shall stay with me as I seek the purpose of my life. For now, I write for the glory of God and to show His love and mercy.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

